top of page

THE DISNEY EXPLORER

Welcome to The Disney Explorer, a unique blog here for you to explore Disney through my eyes. My name is Rebecca and I am doing the Disney College Program Spring 2019!
To learn more hit the About tab!

IMG_8644.jpg
Search

Birthday Surprise!

Updated: May 3, 2019

Today is my 21st birthday. Since I started the application process for the Disney College Program, I knew I wanted my birthday to be celebrated at Epcot. I did drink around the world and it was a blast but I am not going to make this whole blog about drinking. Instead, I want to talk about how magical Disney can be. Even for someone who has come way too many times to count. Growing up, Disney was a huge part of my life and I like to think Disney runs in my blood. My parents would surprise us with trips, with other family members joining us on our vacation, but this surprise was the one to top all surprises.


Let me start off by saying: I hate surprises. I don’t like all the attention to be on me. But this surprise was different. I tried to put on a happy face but I was really upset heading into my birthday because my parents were not going to be there. They went to my sister’s 21st and I wanted them to be there for mine. However, they made it extremely clear that it wasn’t possible for mine. Here was the problem, my birthday is during school (my mom works as a teacher’s assistant) and to make things worse, my birthday fell on a Wednesday this year! Right in the middle of the work week. Both my parents TOLD me they could not take off due to the timing of it all. I totally understood that. I was upset but I understood. I still had a little sliver of hope that they were going to hop on a plane Tuesday night to Orlando. But when they FaceTimed me Tuesday night, they were still in their house. My sliver of hope vanished. So my sister and I headed to Epcot to celebrate my birthday. We went to Rose and Crown Pub for my first drink and when I walked out of the pub, my parents were there too...I couldn’t believe it! I said, “Oh my god,” broke down, grabbed my mom, and started to cry.

Rose and Crown will now hold a special place in my heart. It goes to show you that no matter how old you are; Disney is the most magical place on Earth.


*Disclaimer* All things I write about are my own opinions and are not associated with the company. Any tips or tricks I share are things I found helpful throughout my program and are not sponsored by the company.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


"The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing."

Walt Disney

bottom of page